Waiting for chemo!!

Options
dougal
dougal Member Posts: 19
edited August 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hi Everyone, I am new to this network. My name is Debbie and I was diagnosed with Invasive ductal carcinoma, grade 2, HER positive amplified, oestrogen and progesterone receptor positive, tumour 23mm, on 5th July, so after a life changing shock, out of the blue as no symptoms, at 51 went for my first ever mammogram. Thank god I did as I'm one of those people that thinks nothing will ever happen to! as I live a healthy life, breast fed both my children, never smoked etc. Anyway,how wrong I was, thinking I was so healthy. 

I have since had a right side masectomy on 13th July, but now feeling very stressed, as am still waiting for an appointment with the oncologist. There seems to be an issue after having surgery at Royal Perth hospital I am now being told I'm suddenly out of catchment area for treatment, although not told this when I saw surgeon. I cant believe how stressful this has become waiting for chemo to start and not knowing when. I would just like to ask everyone out there who has had chemo, how long after surgery they commenced it as I'm worried the longer I wait the less effective treatment will be. Any other advise also would be greatly appreciated. Love to hear from anyone out there.

Comments

• kezmusc
    kezmusc Member Posts: 1,544
    Options
    Hi @dougal,

Welcome to the forum.  You are about to meet some amazing people here. Loads of warmth and wisdom.  The rollercoaster that is breast cancer.  The shock is just indescribable isn't it? An there is nothing worse than last minute changes of plan.

I was 45 at diagnosis feeling great just getting on with life then I found a weird kind of lump under my arm and the rest is history so to speak. Blows you out of the water to say the least.