“This sucks”

Options
Jenmcd
Jenmcd Member Posts: 3
Hi. This is a place I never thought I’d be posting in but thank you for allowing a safe space for me to just pour it out. 
I am 54 yrs and am now one week post op (partial mastectomy and nipple removal RHS, sentinel lymph node removal and bilateral breast reduction/reconstruction) having been diagnosed with high grade DCIS with Comedo necrosis on 12/2 and then following MRI, invasion into right nipple. 
What a mind blow out the past 2 months since my routine screen on 5/1 has been. Not telling you anything new as you all have been through this is some form of another. But no symptoms to “you have early breast cancer” has been a surreal trip. I don’t feel sick (well I do now post op!) so how is all this happening to me?! 
I am a psychologist and I know I “know” all the strategies to “ manage the anxiety” and “ one step at a time” and “ don’t let your thoughts become catastrophic “ etc etc but I still feel quite alone on this a journey even with all the support of family and friends. So hence I’m reaching out here with my vulnerabilities. 
I see my surgeon today for post op check and discussion about treatment etc. They are talking about radiation therapy. I am also HER2 positive and so confused about what this actually means and have confused myself more reading discussions on here. I have my questions ready to ask today as I’ve read HER2 positive requires Chemo? 
Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself and have say hi and what a shitstorm all this really is and how I am thankful that I was told about BCNA. 
Tagged:

Comments

• Mareealso
    Mareealso Member Posts: 26
    Options