Immune System

Options
Sweetpetal
Sweetpetal Member Posts: 29
edited December 2018 in General discussion
Asking the question here as I'm hoping for a positive answer.  At what point is your immune system the lowest during chemotherapy.  I work in a hospital and would like to keep working for as long as possible for my mental health but I also don't want to bugger with my health.  Thanks

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,373
    Options
    The general view seems to be that people feel worse in the first 3 -5 days but that doesn't actually answer your question and the answer may be highly variable even if people have the means of knowing about their immune system, not just how they feel. I am all in favour of working through if you can, but toileting, nausea etc have to be considered for your colleagues as well as yourself. Perhaps a question for your medical team? Best wishes. 
  • Ellie_Goli
    Ellie_Goli Member Posts: 6
    Options
    I saw this in eviQ website. 

https://www.eviq.org.au/patients-and-carers/patient-information-sheets/3098-infection-during-cancer-treatment

"When can I get an infection?
    The biggest risk of neutropenia and infection is 7-14 days
    after each chemotherapy treatment but you can get
    infections at any time."
  • Sweetpetal
    Options
    Thanks @Ellie_Goli
  • kitkatb
    kitkatb Member Posts: 442
    Options
    Hi @Sweetpetal  I was on TC and got told day 7 to 10 was when my immune system was lowest.  Although I felt worst from day 3 to 9
  • Doin'it
    Doin'it Member Posts: 377
    Options
    Same @kitkatb
  • arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 7,586
    Options