breast cancer roller coaster

Options
Cassina
Cassina Member Posts: 74
First visit to Breast Cancer Clinic, after small red spot on nipple. Surgeon no 100% not cancer, we do not know what that is, never seen anything like it before? Come back in 6 weeks and if it is still there we will do a biopsy.Guess what? you have cancer, told by the brand new intern on his first day, after a 5 hour wait ......reminder him I was a nurse and on staff, so he said I will call the Surgeon. Surgery done, and oh we found another breast cancer, the aggressive one, so need to go back to surgery again this week. More 5 hour waits, and we got it all, no need for chemo, too small, radio now, then keep an eye on it! All good, see the Oncologist anyway just to get his opinion.... no need for chemo, may not help, all good, comes back 5 mins later, well lets try small dose to stop any cancer returning! You will not loose your hair and you are better to keep working! 
 Monday working feeling great after first dose, no issues, Today Friday bald, in pain and every symptom waiting to go for weekly chemo, too sick to work, everyone knows I have cancer and chemo, yes I will get through this, no I am not angry, but once the world  knows  I find nurses praying for me, everyone has advice re diet, work, hair, well meaning but never thought the journey would be so up and down and never though hair loss would be so depressing and signalling to the world You have cancer, you are now a patient and we feel sorry for you! I can cope with the long term outcome but wonder if anyone else has had a confusing journey?

Comments

• Butterfly 40
    Butterfly 40 Member Posts: 150
    Options
    @not keen on chemo I am really sorry to hear your confusing journey! We are riding on a very bumpy roller coaster.