Recent Diagnosis

Options
SS73
SS73 Member Posts: 4
Hi all, well it's been a head-spinnng few weeks.

Diagnosed on 24/4 with BC - grade 2 - in my right breast and right lymph nodes.

Started with a GP appointment for a lump I had been ignoring for several months, then mammogram and ultrasound, followed by core biopsy, MRI, CT scan, PET scan, another biopsy and several hundred (feels like) vials of blood taken. A visit to a surgeon then oncologist.

Next week I have an ECG on Monday and start Chemo on Tuesday.
Will be having Mastectomy after Chemo then radiation after that, apparently.

I am 49 with a Husband, 2 kids and a few pets. Had loads of things planned for the next 6 months which are now on hold. Daughter sitting her HSC this year (she really didn't need this roller coaster this year)

I have taken next week off work, but I do plan to keep working as much as possible.

Does anyone have any tips for getting through chemo? 
Tagged:

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,375
    edited May 2023
    Options
    Dear @SS73

Bad luck! No-one really wants to be here but welcome anyway. Chemo is a bit of an unlucky dip - if there are any reliable indicators as to how an individual will react, I’ve yet to hear them. For most of us, there’s no testing before you buy. But it’s important to remember that it remains one of the big guns in the armoury for getting rid of cancers. In general terms, a number of people will have a lousy time, feel really ill and hate every part of chemo. At the other end of the spectrum, some will have relatively mild, manageable reactions and their lives will not be disrupted.

Most are somewhere in the middle - good days and bad days, some difficult reactions, some changeable as many have two different chemo treatments, some things not as bad as expected. I had some long term reactions, but most of the time I felt fine, lived normally and worked throughout treatment. So the best you can do is have plans A and B.