Hi, newbie here

Options

Comments

• Sister
    Sister Member Posts: 4,960
    Options
    I went back to Breastscreen to get the results of the core biopsy which indicated invasive lobular cancer, got straight into my GP that afternoon who booked me into see the surgeon the next day.  Luckily we hadn't cancelled our health cover so I was able to go private but even so, the surgeon didn't charge me a gap due to financial concerns (the hospital was a different matter).  From there it was CT scans to check whether there was any spread, then a date for surgery for a partial and sentinel node biopsy.  Unfortunately for me, although all tests had said that the cancer was only 2.5cm with no nodes involved, the surgery and subsequent biopsy showed otherwise.  It was 4.5cm, no clear margins and with 3 nodes involved - ILC is a very sneaky beast.  That meant a second op for mastectomy and axillary dissection but there was nothing further to find.  It is only after the tumour and sentinel nodes are taken that they can really give you a clear path report of the cancer which will determine your recommended further treatments. 
  • SallyS
    SallyS Member Posts: 23
    Options
    Just got a call, they need more time to do more tests so changed my appt from tomorrow (wed) to next Monday
  • kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Options
    Oh how infuriating!
  • SallyS
    Options
    Yes not what I wanted to hear after already waiting 6 days and now I have another 5 :( 
  • primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392
    Options
    I had to wait 10 working days @SallyS. But I had a public surgeon appointment 5 days later and this was over NY and surgery for mastectomy and reconstruction was 20 days later after full workup in between...pre op appt etc. 
  • Eastmum
    Eastmum Member Posts: 495
    Options