Bilateral Lat Dorsi Flaps

Options
Hello, I'm new to this and overwhelmed by the journey ahead. My mother died of breast cancer at 49 and it's been nearly 20 years since I've had to face this issue so intensely. I've been recently diagnosed with DCIS, I've decided to go with a double mastectomy with skin sparing, implants and immediate reconstruction. I've been offered a technique with placing the implant (expander) under the pectoral muscle which is joined with the Lat Dorsi Flap. They don't take the skin to reposition the muscle, it's pulled through from the breast incision. Has anyone had this technique and or experienced the alternate Lat Dorsi Flap? I'm concerned about the recovery and how it will limit my physical movements in the future. Can anyone offer some guidance

Comments

• nonkyboy
    nonkyboy Member Posts: 188
    Options
    Hi @gailforce_75, so sorry to have you join us but a warm welcome all the same. I haven't had what you are having however there is a Choosing Breast Reconstruction group on here also where you may get a quicker answer to your question. Just go to the Groups tag up the top of the page and request to join. I hope that all goes well for you with your upcoming surgery and treatment. Best wishes xx Lesley 
  • gailforce_75
    gailforce_75 Member Posts: 9
    Options
    Thank you Lesley, I'll do as you have suggested and see where that takes me xx
  • melclarity
    melclarity Member Posts: 3,502
    Options
    @gailforce_75

Welcome to you, sorry to hear of your Mum and your diagnosis. Here is the link to the Breast Reconstruction Group, it is a private group and has alot of photo stories from Members with reconstructions of all sorts that you may find helpful. @alexinbrisbane I think may have had this reconstruction.