Onco type dx tests

Options
dak2
dak2 Member Posts: 22
Hi, I'm a newbie and had breast surgery last week for 16mm tumour, er+, 2 lymph nodes which are all clear, no more surgery which is great.
Next step is they recomend short course chemo,  radiation and hormone treatment.  They also said I'm a good candidate for oncotpye testing.  I would love some feedback from anyone who has had the test done, what the results were and whether the cancer returned,, and the cost, I believe the test is $2500 I'm not sure about chemo and thinking the test might be worthwhile investing some of our limited funds.
Any feedback greatly appreciated 

Comments

• Ann-Marie
    Ann-Marie Member Posts: 1,142
    Options
    Hi dak2 welcome to the online network. I will be back in the office on Monday and can have chat with our policy team around this test to find out some more information for you. I will also see if I can find a member that may have had this test done. Let me know if there is anything else you are needing some information on.
    Ann-Marie
  • Ro10
    Ro10 Member Posts: 59
    Options
    Hi @dak2 , I'm interested to see what feedback you get on this. I have heard about these types of tests but none of these were offered to me before I started my chemo. I know they aren't covered my medicare so maybe that's why doctors don't mention them, assuming people can't afford it. Ill be following this post with interest! ☺️
  • dak2
    dak2 Member Posts: 22
    Options
    It's now suggested I have the prosigna test at $2900, yes it will be interesting to see what the responses are, I prefer to invest some money into the test if it means I escape having chemo!!
  • socoda
    socoda Member Posts: 1,767
    Options