Feelings of Panic

2»

Comments

• Kactus
    Kactus Member Posts: 9
    How are you going @KayB55 ?
    I found out yesterday I have breast cancer so am definitely feeling that panic. I think it is the invasive lobular type but a lot of the doctor’s words weren’t sinking in. I’m having staging scans tomorrow.
  • Sister
    Sister Member Posts: 4,960
    edited July 2019
    Make sure you take someone with you to appointments @Kactus if you can.  So much of what we're told in the early days doesn't sink in.
  • Kactus
    @Sister I am lucky my wonderful husband has been to all of my appointments so far and will be coming with me today.
    I work in a school too @KayB55 I’m an SSO in a year 1 class mostly. I have 2 children of my own and have managed to explain things to them quite well I think and am holding it together on the surface. Of course they are my biggest worry. I have made a GP appointment for this afternoon though as I am finding it really hard to sleep the last couple of nights so hopefully they can give me something to help with that. I need to keep working while I can do a bit of sleep would be nice 😬. I have some sick leave but I have no idea how much I’ll need, how long is piece of string I guess?
    Thanks for your well wishes, good luck to you too xxx
  • KayB55
    KayB55 Member Posts: 75
    Sister, Having lived in a bit of a cocoon for far too many years, I am becoming more and more aware of the complexity of lives. Here is hoping some good solid sleep and some moments of relaxation come your way soon. Regards 
  • arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 7,521
    @KayB55 and @Kactus - also consider recording your meetings on the phone - most will agree to you doing this, as they know that a lot of what is said just doesn't sink in.  I've gone back & listened to one of my meetings - and you just have them there as 'backup'.