Newly diagnosed both breasts

Andrea_J1
Andrea_J1 Member Posts: 8
edited December 2018 in Newly diagnosed
I was diagnosed on the 12th November with cancer in both breasts.  Stage 1 in my right and stage 2 in my left.  The right one was found during an ultrasound.  
My Mum passed away from cancer - started off as breast and metastasised to her bones. She has been gone now for 18 years.
I work as a nurse.  I am terrified! 
I am having breast conserving surgery on the 12th December.  
What are peoples experiences for recovery with both sides?  

I would really appreciate any feedback.  Sorry if this doesn't make sense.
Tagged:

Comments

• SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
    I had a double mastectomy in 2012 and no reconstruction I recovered quickly from surgery.  there is no need to be sorry @Andrea_J1

Below are a couple of links to help you find your
    way around the forum and also how to find a breast care nurse and how to order
    a MY journey Kit if you haven't got one yet. 

It can be a whirlwind when we first get a
    diagnosed.... Breathe and take it one step at a time. 

Navigating the online community
    formerly the what and how thread.

http://onlinenetwork.bcna.org.au/discussion/14879/navigating-the-online-community-formerly-the-what-and-how-thread

Breast Care Nurses

https://www.mcgrathfoundation.com.au/OurMission/OurNurses/FindANurse.aspx 

My Journey online tool and other resources. 

https://www.bcna.org.au/resources/

BCNA Helpline 1800 500 258

If you have any questions, concerns or require any further
    information or support please call 1800 500 258. BCNA’s helpline will now be open from
    9am-6pm Monday to Thursday and 9am to 5pm Fridays.  

How to understand your pathology reports

https://www.cancer.org/treatment/understanding-your-diagnosis/tests/understanding-your-pathology-report/breast-pathology/breast-cancer-pathology.html

• Andrea_J1
    Thank you SoldierCrab 
  • poodlejules
    poodlejules Member Posts: 393