Newbie here

Options
Hi All,

im new to the forum. A couple of months ago my Aunty had her breast removed due to breast cancer. She’s my father’s sister. My nan also had breast cancer and so did her sister. My nan also had colon cancer and another Aunty in same side of family had endometrial cancer. So the Aunty with breast cancer had a genetic test. She was negative for BRCA1 &2 but was positive for Lynch’s Syndrome genetic defect. Lynch’s causes a range of cancers. But newly published papers in 2018 have also now linked it with breast cancer. Has anyone else had Lynch’s Syndrome diagnosis with breast cancer.
Also I had a mammogram and ultrasound when I was 38. A cyst was found but no more tests were carried out. Last week at the age of 45 I had another one. It went for 1.5 hours and the operators kept ducking out to check with doctor then came back and took more images. Within an hour of finishing my GP rang saying he needed to see me next week but it wasn’t urgent. Should I be worried? There were cysts found in my breasts including in my lymph glands. I’m now nervous about appointment.

Comments

• lrb_03
    lrb_03 Member Posts: 1,267
    Options
    Hi @Blackkitty25, of course you're nervous about the appointment. I  would be too.  Welcome to the forum. Feel free to pose any questions that you have, bearing in mind that advice is of a personal nature, not medical.
    I don't specifically remember hearing of anyone on here with Lynch syndrome, but if you enter it into the search bar on the home page, you may find something. 
    There are other hereditary cancer genetic links. All are scary, and the only good thing is that it gives you knowledge of what you may need to look for. 
    @kmakm, @primek, any words to help?
    Take care
  • primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392
    Options