New Member, Newly diagnosed

Options
Leila34
Leila34 Member Posts: 71
edited July 2016 in Social Groups

Hi, my name is Leila, i'm 34 and have just been diagnosed 24/06/16. I have four kids (7,9,13,15). I have been attending our local Baptist church for the last 5 years and was at a local Pentecostal church for about 8 years prior to that. I have found that my faith has been a real blessing to me in these first few crazy weeks. I have had lots of friends and family praying for me, and although I know its going to be a rough year ahead, im feeling confident that God will see me through it.

Already I have had a few moments where I feel really reassured by his presence. The first was a biggy and that was the fact that the cancer was picked up. I went for regular check up, pap smear, breast check. I couldn't feel any lumps but I had been having some tenderness and sensitive nipples (but by the time I actually had the appointment they had subsided), the nurse suggested we just do a re-scan for peace of mind (I had a scare in 2014 that turned out to be nothing) so I just thought, ok why not? When I went for the scan / mammo I was late (I had mixed up my app time!) but they managed to see me anyway. You can imagine my surprise when I went back for the results and was told I had a new 1.7cm suspicious lump and needed a biopsy right away! The biopsy results showed it is a Grade 3 aggressive cancer, so I am truly thankful they found it so early.

The next encouragement was the fact that my husband and I had decided to see a Christian marriage counsellor abut 2 weeks prior to my diagnosis, and as it turned out on the night of our second session (night before I found out results) our counsellor told us that his wife had also had BC so he knew exactly what we were going through! He has also offered for me to chat to his wife about her experiences.