Pillow Talk

Options
Jameela
Jameela Member Posts: 11

Hi, I am fairly new to BCNA. I was diagnosed
in late July with a BRCA1 mutation, had my first ever mammogram and U/S which
showed a mass on the U/S but not the mammogram, had a needle biopsy which confirmed
IDC and adjacent DCIS in my L breast. MRI showed some more suspect areas of potential
DCIS in both breasts. After a lot of anxiety, reading, and extremely helpful
advice and support from the women in the breast reconstruction group (and I
should add my BS & PS), I am scheduled to have a bilateral mastectomy with
expanders on 5th September.

It is strange how leading up to my
operation I am fixated on what seems to me to be very small and trivial things.
I suspect my subconscious is doing this to prevent me from thinking too hard
about the actual procedure. It also in some way makes me feel like I have some
control in the planning of a process that seems to be largely out of my
control.

So, finally getting to the point of this
thread, I have read lots of your comments about the use of pillows post-op to
help get comfortable and improve the chances of getting some sleep. Several of the American sites I have come across talk about systems of wedges,
and pillow set-ups that sound extraordinarily complicated. Does anyone out
there have any suggestion for a side-sleeper that detests sleeping on her back?
Did any of you use a special pillow or just have a few extra pillows on hand?

Sharyn

Comments

• Kiwi Angel
    Kiwi Angel Member Posts: 1,952
    Options
    @Jameela I got a special little pillow given to me by my breastcare nurse the day of my single mastectomy - they are make by volunteers and look like a satin covered travel pillow. I’m a side sleeper too but had to learn to sleep on my back for ages. Am now back to my side now that I’m all healed. Wishing u all the best for your surgery xoxoxo
  • Zoffiel
    Zoffiel Member Posts: 3,372
    Options