A Question re Exercise

Options
simonec
simonec Member Posts: 2
edited October 2014 in Health and wellbeing

Hi to all the lovely members of the 'Get active and keep well' group. 

My name is Simone, and I am new to the group. I have added my photo and story to My Profile, as a way of introduction. I am also new to joining the network, so am hoping this is the right way to go about this!

I am due to have a bilateral mastectomy next week, and wanted to find out what experiences anyone may have had with restarting exercise after the surgery. I have had three previous rounds of surgery this year (a duct excision and two partial mastectomies), but understand a bilateral mastectomy is another thing altogether, so am not sure how long I'll be out of action as far as exercising goes. After the two partial mastectomies I could still go to the gym but limited myself to lower-body workouts. I have a herniated disk in my back, so this really helped. I am a regular gym-goer, and was asked last week if I wanted to suspend my membership after the surgery? I told them I didn't know how I was going to feel, but hope to be able to get back into it, at least in a reduced capacity, soon after my surgery. 

If anybody is able to share their experience of returning to exercise after surgery, it would be much appreciated. 

Best Wishes

Simone 

Comments

• Robyn W
    Robyn W Member Posts: 1,932
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Welcome to the online network.I didn't have a bilateral,so I will leave this to the ladies that did.I just wanted to let you know,that the blog is often a bit quiet on the weekend,but I am sure that if you wait a couple of days,you will get many replies.You really have come to the right place for advice and support.Take care.Robyn.xox
  • Robyn W
    Robyn W Member Posts: 1,932
    edited March 2015
    Options