Travelling with breast cancer

Options
anniea
anniea Member Posts: 4
edited March 2011 in Day to day

My friend and I are looking to travel to the UK next year. She has breast cancer and requires  herceptin infusions every 3 weeks. Does anyone know how we can access an infustion in England?? We know she could miss a treatment but having it would make our trip more flexible as far as length of time goes. We are running out of people to ask!!

Comments

• Kathy_BCNA
    Kathy_BCNA Staff, Member Posts: 101
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi Annie

This is Kathy - I am a Senior Policy Officer at BCNA.

I am not sure what arrangements, if any, are in place for women requiring breast cancer treatments while travelling overseas. I suggest your friend talks to her medical oncologist to see if he/she can arrange something for her or can suggest a way for her to access a Herceptin treatment in the UK.

I'd be interested to hear the outcome if you have a chance to let me know. You could email me at kwells@bcna.org.au or reply to this post.

All the best for your trip. I hope you both have a great time.

Kathy

• Sarah 51
    Sarah 51 Member Posts: 303
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi Annie

Do you know where you will be travelling to in the UK? I have a few medical contacts spread around the country (I am a nurse and originally come from UK) . The only things are she might have to pay for the treatment unless there is some reciprocal arrangements (which I doubt). Let me know I can't promise anything but can ask.

Sarah

• anniea
    edited March 2015
    Options