DCIS

2»

Comments

• MelCBusby
    MelCBusby Member Posts: 1
    @Frenchbee you’re not alone. This is my first time in this forum, and I looked for comments on DCIS. I also have a high grade DCIS diagnosis.
    I’ve had two surgeries so far since diagnosis  in May and I have another one 8th August, this time a mastectomy on my right breast.
    i was also told this was “pre-cancer” at the early stages of diagnosis, and this plays a massive part of my self-consciousness- I beat myself up when I feel depressed and anxious- “this is only Pre-cancer, why am I so upset??? “ 
    Im struggling with the changes to my body and coming to terms with my upcoming surgery.
    i may be considered “pre-cancer”, and they may be trying to appease, but it only feels like they’re belittling your condition, and it makes you feel like you’re over-reacting.
    Maybe this should be addressed within the medical field 

• Frenchbee
    Frenchbee Member Posts: 12
    @MelCBusby

I'm so sorry for the long delay in replying Mel. 

I had the mastectomy/diep reconstruction surgery on 10th July and just now resurfacing a bit.

I cannot agree with you more - I have felt quite isolated with this diagnosis and like I don't "belong" in the breast cancer world.

Yet the medical interventions that many DCIS patients must endure are sometimes at the extreme end of things - particularly the surgeries.

I have had multiple mammograms, ultrasounds, MRI, core needle biopsies, MRI guided biopsy, lumpectomy surgery, nipple shave surgery, mastectomy and now phase 1 diep flap surgery.  I still have at least one more surgery to go plus a nipple reconstruction

Honestly - it feels like... a lot?

I am so so grateful that my mastectomy pathology has confirmed that (finally) I have clear margins - I know how lucky I am that I don't have to face chemotherapy and/or radiation like so many of our further advanced sisters.