This is my first time posting ...

Options
This discussion was created from comments split from: Choosing your words.

Comments

• Mazbeth
    Mazbeth Member Posts: 199
    Options
    This is my first time posting a comment as I was diagnosed just before Christmas and it has taken me quite a bit to adjust to pretty much everything. However, I have been avidly reading all of the supportive messages here and have been building up courage to get involved. In the first couple of weeks I visited a hypnotherapist just trying to get some skills to help me. One thing she said to me was that cancer is a visitor to my body, an uninvited visitor that I was taking steps to get rid of. I agree that it is definitely not a journey. I should add that I have started Chemo and then I will have surgery followed by radiation.  
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,371
    Options
    Best of luck @Mazbeth. It’s hard to imagine now but there will come a time when you will have to work hard to remember all of this stuff!  Use whatever support systems that are useful to get you through. One of the reasons I don’t like the  ‘journey’ analogy is that I have always found real journeys at least as interesting as the destination. With cancer, keeping your eye on the destination (no evidence of disease) is the real focus. Yes, the troublesome lodger still has the key but time helps to manage the thought of another unwelcome residency much better. 
  • Blossom1961
    Blossom1961 Member Posts: 2,375
    Options