New to this!

Bkenny16
Bkenny16 Member Posts: 1
edited October 2010 in Newly diagnosed

Im new to this, not really sure what to do. I guess i'll just go through the jist of my story. I was diagnosed this year with Breast Cancer.. I have a very unsupportive family and when i told them, the response i got was "I hope you don't expect us to pay for it" fortunetly i have an amazing fiance, Michael (Mo for short) and his family have been very good. After biting the bullet and shaving my hair yesterday i decided that i should explore other means of support. I have been finding myself wondering if i should continue treatment or let this run its natural course.. Still havent decided on that front yet. Felt good to write this down though, or type rather. Well, if anyone has read this, thanks but im not really expecting anyone to.

Comments

• Di_BCNA
    Di_BCNA Member Posts: 896
    edited March 2015

*raises hand* I read this! :)

Hi Bkenny16, welcome to the network. Hope you enjoy yourself here -- just ask if you need help finding your way around.

Di

• Di_BCNA
    Di_BCNA Member Posts: 896
    edited March 2015

*raises hand* I read this! :)

Hi Bkenny16, welcome to the network. Hope you enjoy yourself here -- just ask if you need help finding your way around.

Di

• Tanya
    Tanya Member Posts: 380
    edited March 2015

Hi Bkenny16

Sorry for your diagnosis.  Great that you have the support of Michael and his family.  It is great to write stuff down and I found it very beneficial as well.

I too shaved my head, and it felt good to take back some control of a situation that was out of my control!!  Mine was in preparation  for chemo, you mentioned that you do not know what you are doing yet?  You are the only one that can make that decision, but knowledge is power and you need to make an informed decision.