Newbie here, my story so far...

Options
KellieF
KellieF Member Posts: 9
edited August 2011 in General discussion

Hi, i joined this site a few weeks back and thought it was about time i posted something. My story so far is,

I found a lump and had it checked on the 3rd august, they did a biospy on the 4th aug and the results were that it was an invasive ductal carcinoma and oestrogen receptor positive.

An ultrasound & biopsy on the 15th aug of the lymph nodes in the armpit showed at least one enlarged node.

Had surgery on the 19th august to remove lump and all level 1 & 2 lymph nodes. Got the results back  this week and they said there was only one lymph node with cancer out of the 16 they took and the margin on the 3cm lump they removed was clear...

Going back this week to meet with the docs to get the tretment plan, already know they are going to hit me with it all though chemo, radio and hormone therapy...

Has been a rollor coaster since the begining of this month and they have moved so fast that i dont think i have really taken it all in yet....

I have been reading all your posts on here and have learnt so much, its great to have so much support it makes the journey so much easier :o)

Comments

• Tanya
    Tanya Member Posts: 380
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi Kellie

Thankyou for sharing your story.  Sorry you had to join us, but hope you find support and answers here.

Yours is a very similar diagnosis to mine.  16 nodes taken, one positive.  My tumour was 2.7 and estrogen positive.  Mine was back in 2007 and I am doing well now.  It seems like such a long time ago and now feels like something that happened to someone else.

Things will seem a lot clearer once you have a treatment plan.  Let us know how you get on at the doctors.

Tanya xx

• KellieF
    edited March 2015
    Options

Thanks Tanya, 

So what can i expect in regards to the chemo...how often did you have it and how many cycles?