aussie64

Options
Aussie64
Aussie64 Member Posts: 2
edited August 2011 in Day to day

Hi there I'm Maureen and I am 65 yrs old and have been diagnosed with breast cancer, what a blow that was, as I have and still am healthy....I had a masectomy last Wednesday10th August...I was very fortunate all went well and i am staying Cyndi and Chris(daughter & son-in-law). I have an appointment with the surgeon next Wednesday to discuss results of the operation and further treatment....so as you can see I am just starting out on my journey...and I think that is the best way to look at it...if anybody would like to get in touch and talk to me about their experiences i would love to hear from you...so hello I hope to hear from you soon...Maureen

Comments

• Chris
    Chris Member Posts: 813
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi Maureen,

Welcome to the BCNA site. Here you will meet lots of lovely ladies  who all know what you are going through. I'm glad your surgery went well, and I hope the waiting for your results won't seem too long. I think the waiting is the worse bit, as it is hard to concentrate on anything else. I will be thinking of you on Wednesday as you catch up with your surgeon. I had a mastectomy 3 days before Christmas last year, after first having a lumpectomy in early December. The small tumour they were after was actually much larger than expected ( 21mm instead of 4mm), and a grade 3. This changed everything. I needed more surgery as well as chemo. I was very lucky, as no nodes were involved, but they removed 10 just to be sure. The chemo was no where near as bad as I thought and, I survived well. My 4 children are all in their 20's, so I was able to take things easy during chemo.

Take care

Chris xx

• Chris
    Chris Member Posts: 813
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi Maureen,