Finished Chemo I want to lose the 10kgs I put on any suggestions

Arleene
Arleene Member Posts: 238
edited January 2016 in Health and wellbeing

Hi Ladies and Gents,

I finished Chemo on Monday yahoo, onto the next chapter on my journey. I want to get into a healthy lifestyle, the cancer council is offering a free 8 week yoga program, I've never done yoga before but I have always wanted to, I also help my hubby run an athletics club for which I am a level 1 coach and he's a level 2 coach, I just don't know where to start I am in between treatments my Rads doesn't start until the 22nd of Febuary and I need to lose 10- 20 kgs can someone give me some advice please.

Thanks Anitaxx

Comments

• VickyF
    VickyF Member Posts: 3
    edited January 2016

Hello Anita,

I put on about 10kgs after I finished my rad treatment. I blamed it on the tamoxifen but I think it was more about emotional eating, if I'm being honest.

I was referred to a dietician by my GP and after a couple of false starts I was put on the 5 and 2 diet. The dietician had researched the diet and, my understanding is, the diet is good for BC ladies.

I'm now in maintenance mode but I saw as low but steady weight loss over 12 months, dropping 12kg over that time. I can honestly say I haven't felt that I am missing out on any of the fun foods but portion size does play a big role, so everything in moderation, now!

Vicky

• Kim R
    Kim R Member Posts: 146
    edited January 2016

Hi Anita,

you sound very fit. All I can say is go slow, I have done yoga for 6 years but during chemo I could not practice, I was too dizzy and there was too much introversion, I preferred walking or paddling. Being in nature I found more beneficial than being in my own head! I will get back into it soon. Radiation I found to leave me fatigued so be kind to yourself. But after all the chemo meds stop I found my appetite has reduced. I lost about one kilo a week on rads.

all the best

Kim

• Tracey62