Self image

Options
Loucobamd
Loucobamd Member Posts: 51
edited December 2014 in Health and wellbeing
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the LLL group but I would like to share my story and ask a few questions.
I was diagnosed with DCIS in September and a had mastectomy at the end of October on one side. I will be having my other breast removed and reconstruction in March. I did not need to have any other treatment no chemo or radio or tamoxifen.
I started menopause about 18 months ago and have had sporadic hot flushes night sweats moodiness and vaginal dryness, most of the time it's bearable.
It's good to be able to share some of my more intimate problems as I feel I can't talk to anyone else.
I recovered well from the mastectomy and was back at work on light duties after two weeks. I have just returned to the gym and doing Aqua classes which I have found to be quite ok even with my one boob.
Me and my partner have always enjoyed going into the city for a dance on a Saturday night, at the moment I'm really struggling with my body image. I have a prosthesis which helps with the external side of things.
On the inside I really don't like my body anymore when I get dressed or undressed I'm reminded of my missing boob. I have lost all my confidence in the way I look now. I never thought I was really that into boobs anyway seems I was wrong. Everywhere I used to go seems to be full of young women with lovely boobs and oodles of confidence, I used to be that person.
I don't know how to get back to that and wonder if I will ever feel the same again.
Sexually I feel the same it's hard for me to enjoy sex like I used to. I realise that there is other ways without boobs but I feel sad that I have lost that part of sex.