Yep... I became a statistic!

Comments

• Hazel M
    Hazel M Member Posts: 708
    edited March 2015

Just thought I would pop back in, the library is a free service run by the cancer council. They have lovely ladies who help with fitting, all styles and colours. When you're done you can keep the wig or return it to help others. They are all professionally cleaned and some are new. If you want to, just give them a call, Cheers, 

Hazel xx

• Dragonlover
    Dragonlover Member Posts: 34
    edited March 2015
    I'm fairly new to all this as well diagnosed early October, had a lump in my breast and they found a suspicious lymph node under my arm. These were biopsied and found to be malignant and so I found myself on this crazy ride I couldn't get off! It all happened very quickly after that - surgery the next week to remove lump and 9 lymph nodes, 4 in total were malignant. Didn't quite reach the margins around the lump in the breast so back for more surgery 2 weeks later. Saw an oncologist last week and I will be having 6 months of chemo followed by 6 weeks of radiation therapy. This will start on December 1st. I am going to try the cold cap as I also am scared of having no hair. I've had very long hair as long as I can remember and had it cut to shoulder length 2 days ago. It has to be cut again before treatment so it can all be covered by the cap but I just couldn't do it in one hit! I've read on here by people who have been through chemo that it's the least of your worries but right now it's just one more aspect of you that you have to lose in this process and sometimes it's these little things that break you some days. I'll get past it I know and being part of this site has helped me greatly already. I wish you all the best xx
  • Dragonlover
    edited March 2015