It's not all Kylie

Options
Jacsbac
Jacsbac Member Posts: 9
edited July 2012 in Health and wellbeing
I'm new to the whole blogging thing so excuse my ineptness.
I was diagnosed with IDC (invasive ductal carcinoma) in Nov 2009. My daughter was 19months old and I was still doing the night time breast feed. My daughter was a much loved addition to our lives as my husband and I had 7 miscarriages before Georgie's conception. We were told we had less than 1% chance of a live birth and we had been trying to stay pregnant for 10 years. I was 42 when my daughter was born, so I was already part of a small demographic of being an older first time mother.

The cancer diagnosis has been the most life altering experience of our lives. Not one area of our life has gone untouched.

I had to fight ridicule from the radiographer that I had no reason to believe I had breast cancer, but on my insistence I had a scan after 3 mammograms and a doctors physical examination all indicating I did not have cancer. The doctor actually told me that she did thousands of examinations and she could assure me I didn't have cancer but since I was already at QE II(Brisbane ) I might as well have the scan i insisted on, I now make sure I tell other women to trust their instincts and have a scan. The more aggressive cancers are closer to the nipple and harder to find on a mammogram. I had 3 invasive tumors and 10cm of DCIS! I had a mastectomy 2 weeks later.

At the time I asked how long I would need treatment in the worst case scenario. They told me 6 months - that was 2 and a half years ago! I just feel its important for women to know that its not necessarily a quick chemo session and your hair grows back and you return to life as normal. It can be like that and it's great if it turns out like that for you. However isnt like that for everyone.