Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

Confused with my diagnose.

Options
Chrissieanne
Chrissieanne Member Posts: 5
edited October 2018 in Metastatic breast cancer
I was Diagnosed with metastatic cancer on 17th September. Iv'e has scans ex rays etc and having a mastectomy on 13 November. It seems that it is only in my nodes. Does this mean it not Metastatic cancer as I thought that meant it was somewhere else. I'm confused.  

Comments

• Patti J
    Patti J Member, Dragonfly Posts: 589
    Options
    @Chrissieanne. I am not a doctor,  but I  wouldn't  have  thought you had metastatic breast cancer if it is just in your lymph nodes. Spread to other places such as bone, liver, brain, etc. is what defines metsstatic breast cancer. Have you read your pathology report?
  • Chrissieanne
    Options
    Only read the one from the breast screen biopsy. Will have more information after my Mastectomy. I was told by my oncologist that its only in my nodes. liver clear, bones clear lungs etc clear.  
  • arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 7,576
    Options
    @Chrissieanne  -  talk with your health professionals .... they will be able to put your mind at ease re what happens next after the mastectomy.   

All the best with your ongoing appointments & treatment  xx
  • kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Options
    As I understand it cancer in the nodes does not 'count' as metastatic. But best check with your doctors. K xox
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,371
    Options
    Your cancer may have possibly metastasised into the nodes. I was not HERpositive in my breast tumour but was in the only malignant node. That isn't metastatic breast cancer, but as far as I am concerned is a reminder that it was a jolly good thing to catch it when we did! I'm six years clear, so check with your doctors but all may be well. Best wishes.
  • Blossom1961
    Blossom1961 Member Posts: 2,375
    Options