Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

Advice re filtered water and avoiding sugar...

This discussion was created from comments split from: Cancer spread to liver..

Comments

• MeganM
    MeganM Member Posts: 60
    I’m new can someone share advice re filtered water and avoiding sugar?
  • kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    My understanding is that consumption of sugar has nothing to do with breast cancer, other than too much can make you obese and that is a risk factor for many cancers, including breast. Your body will make energy from whatever you put into it and that is used by all cells.

This is quite good at explaining it:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/health/2017-07-26/cancer-and-sugar-what-you-need-to-know/8701870

Personally I doubt that filtered water would have any effect either but I'm not a scientist. I'd be wary about removing fluoride from my water for the sake of my teeth. But then I do consume a bit of sugar! I suppose if you removed all sugar from your diet removing all the fluoride would be fine! I'd say check with your doctors and dentist! Kxox
  • MeganM
    MeganM Member Posts: 60
    Thanks 
  • Annie C
    Annie C Member Posts: 849
    @kmakm
    The article is  interesting and informative in relation of  sugar to cancer. It was interesting to read that starving the body (depriving cells of necessary sugars) leads to an immune system that is inefficient in fighting disease.  I have often wondered if that is why some women gain weight because their body is recognising in the very, very early stages of cancer that it has a big fight coming up. Only my surmises though - no proof.

As to filtered water, where we live there is no reticulated town water. We rely on bore water for all household and garden needs.  This water is filtered to the house. If there is an implication that flouride causes BC, (which I doubt),  we have been using filtered bore water for 21 years and BC picked me.

• kmakm