Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

To work or not to work?

Options
i am hoping you lovely ladies could share your thoughts on the dilemma of to work or not to work following a mbc diagnosis? I was Dx Stage IV at the end of September this year. The Se of Afinitor/exemestane/Xgeva were awful and I have basically been on sick leave for the past three weeks bar a few days. I stopped Afinitor and am hoping to switch to Letrozole.  I am now wondering whether I will ever be fully OK to return to work full time or indeed if I want to? Are the side effects of most treatment plans difficult to juggle with work? I'm not sure I want to work part time....I think I would feel that I was not truly productive.  I am a personnel manager.  I am fortunate to have insurance with my superannuation which I think would financially allow me to stop work, but if I do, will I find myself bored and too focussed on this disease? Then again, if my life span is limited, do I want to waste the time left to me working? Perhaps you have faced similar questions and perhaps you have been on the mbc journey longer than me? Is so, I would love to hear from you, thank you, cheers Judy 
Tagged:

Comments

Share Member Posts: 217
    Options

Hi there @maggie001, I too have been faced with this dilemma and it still rears it's ugly head every now and then. Your regime sounds similar to mine Everolimus (Afinitor)/Aromasin (exemestane)/XGeva. You stated that you received your diagnosis at the end of September - so, barely 5 weeks ago.

With the taking of any medications, it sometimes takes a while for our system to adjust. However, you have had a huge shock with your diagnosis combined with the juggling of taking not 1 but 3 new medications. I am not surprised at all that you have felt so awful.