Why is it so hard?

Options
12paws
12paws Member Posts: 7
Hello, I’m new to the network even though I’m well past finished with my treatment. I even have almost enough hair on my head to call it a bob, sort of. I finished the mastectomy/reconstruction/6 months chemo/ 6 weeks of radiation about 12 months ago. I don’t even really know how to write this, other than when does it get better? I had no idea how hard it would be once the treatment was done. All that stuff the nurses warned you of was just theoretical noise at the time. It feels like none of the ‘normal’ people I know really has any idea what it’s like and just expect you to get on with it. Pre diagnosis I was early 40’s, long hair ( pah, who didn’t!) career going really well, running marathons, and then, boom. All gone. I’m left with a Frankenstein body, crazy hair, and a very high chance of it recurring.  I should be feeling great. I can run long distances again, I have hair, I don’t have cancer. I still have a job. Yet it’s a daily struggle. And I really do get that life can be so much worse and I’m actually quite lucky, yet......Anyone else like me out there???

Comments

• Eli86
    Eli86 Member Posts: 70
    Options
    Hi @12paws I’m at the other end of my journey so I can’t offer you any insight sorry, so I’m just sending you a giant virtual hug instead. xx
  • AllyJay
    AllyJay Member Posts: 945
    Options
    Hi there @12paws ...it really sucks doesn't it. They can take their "journey" and "your new normal" and shove it where the sun don't shine!!! Not that long ago, I sat on my (brown) hair and spent my weekends packing parachutes for credit, and dive bombing out of basically anything that would get me to 12000 ft and that has a door. No more. Now this befuzzled titless wonder sits with her explosion of white frizz...I look like a somewhat rabid and decrepit sheepdog...and knit. Fuck that!!
  • 12paws
    edited August 2018
    Options