Newly Diagnosed also have BRCA2 Gene

Rubylulu
Rubylulu Member Posts: 20
Hi,

Sorry I'm a newbie, apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong section.  I have just been diagnosed with DCIS.  Had a lumpectomy 1 week ago and will get results tomorrow.  They have said if it's nothing worse will be followed by a course of radiation.  Although - everything appears different for me because I have the faulty gene.  My team of people are ever so gently "pushing" me to have a double masectomy to remove all risk.  I also had my ovaries and tubes removed a month ago - as risk reducing surgery (as also a high risk of Ovarian cancer with BRCA2).  Which has thrown me into early menopause.  I am 45.   Wondering if there are any others on this forum with the BRCA1 or 2 gene that are having a similar experience.
Tagged:

Comments

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    edited April 2018
    Hi Ruby. I think you've posted in the right section just fine! Can I suggest that you put BRCA in the search bar on the homepage? That will turn up all sorts of info for you. 299 results in fact! Hang in there. K xox
  • lrb_03
    lrb_03 Member Posts: 1,267
    Hi @Rubylulu, and welcome. Have a look on a site called "Pink Hope" regarding risk reducing surgery. If you're not sure talk to a genetic counsellor, if you haven't already,  about the risks of further diagnosis vs preventative surgery, or if there are any other options for you.
    Take care
  • onemargie
    onemargie Member Posts: 1,264