My journey of B C

Options
Butterfly 40
Butterfly 40 Member Posts: 150
Hi everyone,

I was formally diagnosed BC with multifocal invasive lobular carcinoma from biopsy 2 days before Christmas in 2016. I had lumpectomy and sentinel nodes biopsy 2 days before New Year. I recovered really well from the surgery. 

From the day I went to GP to check out a lump I felt on my breast to the surgery, it was only 2 weeks. I was in total SHOCK. I cried so much. I went through WHY ME. I am 40 years old, never smoked, no alcohol, no drugs, I go to gym 3 times a week, eat healthy, I am a nurse who always care for others. After the why me phase and after surgery, I looked at my two beautiful children and husband, I felt so lucky and grateful that I have them. I am surrounded with lots of love by my family and friends. 

I was at stage 1, grade 2, my lymph nodes were clear, but There were LCIS across the whole specimen. The multidisciplinary medical team recommended mastectomy based on my age. My breast surgeon expressed his opinion to me prior to the multidisciplinary meeting, he preferred not go for mastectomy, just regular check ups. Because of the recommendation from the multidisciplinary meeting, my breast surgeon referred me to a plastic surgeon and asked me to think about whether I go for mastectomy. I do want to keep my own breast, but I don't want to leave any chance for the LCIS turn into cancer again. I have been reading and gathering information about mastectomy and reconstruction. I don't know which one is best for me, implant or tissue flap?