Early breast cancer

Options
KatyJoy
KatyJoy Member Posts: 181
i have been diagnosed with grade 2 invasive ductal carcinoma. A wise doctor advised me many years ago to have mammograms every 2 years from 40 as I have an aunt who has breast cancer (at 60 yo). At 41 I had my first scan, never did I think I would actually have breast cancer. It has been such a shock! It feels so surreal as I have no lump. On mammogram/ultrasound, it was thought this tumour was 3-4 cm but because I have dense breast tissue, the doctor sent me for an mri. The mri estimates a 9cm tumour! My feelings are so confused, on one hand I feel 'this is so unfair', but I feel guilty feeling that because at least I have been diagnosed through being screened at a stage where my prognosis will hopefully be good, I should be feeling lucky about that. The plan for me is chemo for 6 cycles, then surgery followed by radiotherapy. I am a nurse working in palliative care so I have seen some very sad stories. Reading through the posts here, it has been great to see so many positive stories and support offered by women who have been in similar situations. What a great community! I had my first chemo a week ago and to be honest, I've been pretty sick, but I think I'm starting to come good now. Anyway, I'm sorry to be joining your community, but so glad it is here. I hope I can offer some support and hope to others in similar situations

Comments

• socoda
    socoda Member Posts: 1,767
    Options