going back to work

Options
kchehade
kchehade Member Posts: 27
edited December 2013 in Health and wellbeing

Hi

I just wanted to find out what is the average time, for women who have had the experience not from doctors, for a woman to go back to work following:

• a lumpectomy & sentinel node biopsy followed by another surgery a week later to take more tissue out. 
  • when i start my chemo: can I work during the treatment period?
  • when i start my radio: can I work during the treatment period?

I just want to be realistic with my self and be fair to my family and employer. I work as an office manager and my employer has been very supportive with time off but I don't have any leave left therfore will need to go back and not have to take leave without pay as it will affect our financial situation drastically and won't be able to afford to pay our mortgage. I can imagine that so many women have or are going through the same dilema.

I am going back to work on monday after 3 weeks off following the first step above. I am feeling ok physically except for the pain from the underarm infection that developed from the sentinel node biopsy wound but I am on anibiotics and hoping i'll be better by Monday morning. I should be starting my treatment in the new year. I don't have all the details as yet but I would like to get an idea from you all about taking time off so I can plan my work and financial matters.

much appreciated.

Katia

Comments

• Deanne
    Deanne Member Posts: 2,163
    edited March 2015
    Options