Di F

Options
Di F
Di F Member Posts: 24
edited October 2010 in Day to day

I am new to all this but here goes. Having recently being diagnosed with early breast cancer, I would love to hear from women who have had lymph node involvement so I can be encouraged that the chemo is worth while going through.

Comments

• Tanya
    Tanya Member Posts: 380
    edited March 2015
    Options

Sorry that you have been diagnosed, but glad that you have found this site.

I was diagnosed in 2007 when I was 36 years old.  I had a large tumour, Grade 3 with lymph node involvement.  I had a mastecomy and chemo.  And I am now on hormone therapy for the next 2 years (5 year stint in total).  Chemo sux but is doable and I still have a wonderful life.

YOU are the only one that can decide if chemo is worth doing and your medical team can give you all that stats.  Everyone is different and responds differently to treatments and chemo.

Good luck.  Let us know how you are getting on.

Tanya

• Di F
    Di F Member Posts: 24
    edited March 2015
    Options

I have also had a mastectomy and have had 2 rounds of chemo. I'm feeling okay at the moment and haven't yet had the headaches which I had first time round. At least nausea has been under control. Dealt with the hair this last weekend - my hubby helped shave my head - I have been well supported by him through the journey. After my chemo, I too will be put on hormone therapy for five years. Thank you for replying - it seems so many stories I have read have been lymph node negative and realistically their odds are a lot better but once you are on this roller coaster ride we are on, the fighting spirit seems to kick in. Did you go down the road of reconstruction and how are the side effects of the hormone treatments? All the best to you too. Di

• w.a. kaz
    w.a. kaz Member Posts: 80
    edited March 2015
    Options