DiamondDee

Options
DiamondDee
DiamondDee Member Posts: 1
edited September 2012 in Day to day

hi i am new to blogging so please bear with me, i was feeling a little down and thought i would pop on line and see what it was all about. plus i am a little unsure about some thing that the oncologyst said. i have had 5 sessions of chemo and am supposed to have 6 all up, but the doctor said that i did not have to have the 6th treatment if i didnt want to. i said if i didnt have to have to have it i wouldnt know i am wondering if i should or not. i am  so over all this and dont want to do it if its not needed.

Comments

• Leonie Moore
    Leonie Moore Member Posts: 1,470
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Hi and welcome to the site. I know a lot of ladies who opted out of their chemo. You have done extremely well to have finished 5. I only had 3 and rejoiced at the end. It is a huge challenge. Well done. I am sure you will make a good decision for yourself. Best wishes XLeonie
  • Leonie Moore
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Hi and welcome to the site. I know a lot of ladies who opted out of their chemo. You have done extremely well to have finished 5. I only had 3 and rejoiced at the end. It is a huge challenge. Well done. I am sure you will make a good decision for yourself. Best wishes XLeonie
  • Leonie Moore
    edited March 2015
    Options
  • Leonie Moore
    edited March 2015
    Options
  • pisces_tas
    pisces_tas Member Posts: 474
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hello, Yes, I would discuss it with your oncologist and/ or Breast care nurse. There may be a few reasons why it has been suggested you could do with only 5, instead of 6 chemotherapies.

It would depend many things I suspect. Maybe it might be your reaction to the therapy, the size and location of the tumour, its aggressiveness; whether you had nodes involved and how many, or some other reason. I am NOT an expert; so it is best to discuss concerns with your health team.