Up coming surgery feeling worried

nat_k20
nat_k20 Member Posts: 9
My surgery is 7 days away feeling nervous and also scared I suffer anxiety so that's not helping much I'm trying to hold it together 

Comments

• iserbrown
    iserbrown Member Posts: 5,710
    Hi @nat_k20
    What Surgery are you having?  Lumpectomy or Mastectomy?
    As hard as it is for you at present the Surgery will be here before you know it.  Further pathology will be taken during Surgery which will give a clearer picture of size and type of Breast Cancer.  These results will then enable your further treatment plan, if needed, to be set.
    Best wishes 
    Take care
  • nat_k20
    Thank you I'm having a lumpectomy I have had some bad experiences with hospital before I feel that's why I'm so anxious 
  • arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 8,056
    It is totally normal to feel scared and anxious before going into any surgery @nat_k20 ... but try not to let it RULE the next 7 days xx 

I was an emotional mess when my brother & hubby left me at the hospital (I had a lumpectomy too)  .... but I woke up after the surgery feeling SO relieved that the beast was 'gone' ....  and everything just got easier after that.  Once your surgeon gets the pathology report back and sees you again to check your wound (make sure you get a copy of the report) .. then, you'll have a better idea of the planned treatment.