The “journey” begins.

Options
MrsMorrisey
MrsMorrisey Member Posts: 78
I was diagnosed with grade 2 IDC ER & PR + Her2- on 19/12. I am 50 years old, married with three teenagers at home, two homeschoolers, one working. 
I work as a nurse for NDIS. 
Getting the diagnosis just before Christmas was horrific. 
So far this has been my plan. 

Diagnosed 19/12
Follow up call from GP on 21/12 to see how I was
Nothing happens for a couple of weeks over Christmas/New Year. 
Bone scan and dye CT scan 5th Jan ( all clear and no lymph activity) 
Surgeons appt Jan 8th. 
She was lovely and very respectful ( had sat in on a couple of her operations on my surgical rounds)
She talked me through the process and I felt a lot better after that. She also examined me and noted that the lump that was the issue is not actually the cancer, it’s sitting next to it. I have type D density and very fibrous. 

She mentioned that it’s a tricky one to find and that she’ll need to follow a trail of breadcrumbs. Also mentioned that the cancer is sitting in a DCIS. I can’t find any info on others having that. 

Today I get the carbon tracer injected and she said that will attach to the cancer so she can see what to take. 
Next Tuesday I get the blue dye injection for the lymph node activity then Wednesday have the surgery. 
Nothing happened then everything happened!

All this appt making and  phone calls while attending a cricket carnival for my son 4 hours from home. 

My surgeon recommended this site and I’ve been lurking for a bit but today thought I’d share my story. 
I can’t believe this is happening and I’d love it to go away but it won’t and I need to remember how fortunate this happens in our public system. 

Comments

• iserbrown
    iserbrown Member Posts: 5,552
    Options
    Ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) (bcna.org.au)

A link for you to explore and will also give you an opportunity to explore the BCNA website.
  • cactusk
    cactusk Member Posts: 53
    Options
    Hi @MrsMorrisey