What a Whirlwind!

Options
Kimmy_23
Kimmy_23 Member Posts: 1

Out of sheer luck I found a suspicious lump on my right breast in early June 2023. I didn’t think much of it, but thought I should have it looked at (as a friend of mine had breast cancer at 23). All I can say is thank god I did because after a mammogram, ultrasound and a painful biopsy I was diagnosed with breast cancer. This all happened 4 days after my 29th birthday and it was an absolute shock to me! My cancer was defined as hormone based, HER- and Grade 3. 

The days after my diagnosis were an absolute whirlwind! I had multiple tests, appointments and then a full mastectomy of my right breast. 

As my fiancé and I are yet to have children, I am currently in the process of fertility treatments so I can freeze my eggs. Once this is complete I am looking at 5 months of chemo. I am feeling nervous about chemo because of the side effects it may have on me.

I am a primary school teacher and have taken term 3 off from work. I am hoping to return in term 4 on a part time basis, but this will depend on how hard the chemo is on my body and mind. 

I am hoping to reach out and connect with others (especially young people) with breast cancer near me 💕

Comments

• Locksley
    Locksley Member Posts: 924
    Options
    Hi @kimmy23 sorry to find yourself here.   There is a young women's group you can join.

I had the same type of bc you have.  I had mastectomy chemotherapy and radiation.  You can do this just take one step at a time.  I was 52 when diagnosed. 

That's great you are doing fertility treatment for your eggs down the track.   I wish you all the best.  Sending you a hug. Xxx
  • arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 7,593
    Options