Tissue Expander - Saline Infill pain

Options
Hi All,

After a year of treatment I'm finally preparing for breast reconstruction. I had my first saline infill in my tissue expander and oh boy the pain was so intense - probably the worst pain I have felt in a long time! I'm 3 days post and still very uncomfortable and dreading my next one. I don't want to give up or postpone my surgery date as the expander is so uncomfortable and has changed a lot due to radiation - does anyone have any tips on pain management that worked for you whilst you were getting your infills? Thanks 
Tagged:

Comments

• CarrieP
    CarrieP Member Posts: 39
    Options
    Sorry your not feeling great, I am just starting out on this journey so no advice but just wanted to say I am thinking of you x
  • Zoffiel
    Zoffiel Member Posts: 3,372
    Options
    @Miss_Minimal1
    Consider taking some pain meds before the next top up and if you are really anxious, consider a mild sedative. I'm the sort who is happy with some chemical intervention, but it's not everyone's preference.

I hated those sessions, the sharpness of the pain--like I could feel rough edges on the  expander-- took me totally by surprise. Then there was a horrible sensation which I can only liken to the feeling of opening your mouth too wide which persisted through the whole process. The implants themselves were much more comfortable. By comparison.

Pain is an odd beast. It is most certainly not all in our heads, but I have discovered that once I get into what I call a pain loop, things turn totally to shit and can stay that way for a disproportionate amount of time.
     I tense up, everything gets tighter (not helpful when you are trying to create a cavity under your chest muscles) I focus too hard on the injury. If I put a bit of a lid on it beforehand, things go better for me.
    Oh, and don't do pushups for a while. :) Mxx
  • iserbrown
    iserbrown Member Posts: 5,552
    Options