Return to work - physical hardship

Sabran65
Sabran65 Member Posts: 4
Hello all,

This is my first time writing here and I am feeling overwhelmed and desperate for some consolation.

I don’t know who to turn to because the ‘Non cancer ‘ family and friends around me don’t really understand what am currently going through, although they always show their love and support.

My first week back at work and I worked for only two day.  Both times I struggled, my body developed immense pain and the lethargy ‘smashed’ me the next day after working. It took me a couple of days to improve upon which i then worked another day. And again, I am feeling achy, tired like I have been hit by a bus.  

I don’t know who to talk to and I am hoping that maybe someone else has experienced this.  

I believe that the commute to work and the fact that I am carrying a packpack (which is a little heavy) with my laptop etc?

Hope you can bring some light to my situation.

Love and hugs
Sabrina 

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    I didn’t have this problem, didn’t take leave really, but as @kmakm says, it’s all too common. If you can take one day a week at first that may help. You may also be quite anxious about return and this can easily add to your fatigue. Some counselling about how to best husband your energies may be useful if you can find a good counsellor. Even without fatigue or pain, some good ‘not family’ advice can be very useful as you negotiate whatever your new normal may be. Best wishes. ’ 
  • iserbrown
    iserbrown Member Posts: 5,539
    Don't be too hard on yourself!  It's an adjustment both physically and emotionally.  For me it was the fatigue that I had to learn to roll with

https://www.cancervic.org.au/living-with-cancer/common-side-effects/fatigue

Take care and be kind to yourself 

• primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392