Scared worried and confused

Options
Leilani
Leilani Member Posts: 42
Hi I'm 42 just found out on the 29th august that I have breast cancer.

I'm new to this I have my ups and downs I don't know how to handle this there is days where I cry a lot and then pretend that I am OK but really I'm not my family won't do things that they normally do my son had a family BBQ with his in laws and said he won't go how can he pretend to be happy.

And then there is days where I'm OK I can't really talk to my family about this as all I do is cry 

Comments

• Sister
    Sister Member Posts: 4,960
    Options
    Hi Leilani. Welcome to this forum - you will find a lot of support and information here.  First, can I say that you're not alone in how you're feeling.  The first days after diagnosis are so unreal and so scary.  You may find yourself in years one moment and totally numb the next.  This should settle a bit when you start treatment and have a plan of action.  For now, the best thing is to try to take it one thing at a time and breathe.  If you can find something to distract you, that's great but don't be surprised if breast cancer is in your every thought for awhile.  I would tell your son to still do things - he doesn't have to be happy but maybe he might be if he can forget for a little while.  And do try to tell your family a little about how you're feeling even if it's just to say that you're struggling to control your emotions.  Just remember that you're currently in shock and that you will get a handle on things when that has passed. Have you got an appointment with a surgeon?  If you can, make sure that you take someone you trust with you - it's always useful to have another pair of ears.  And is there someone you can ask to be gatekeeper? Someone who can field the well-meaning calls from people.  The last thing you want if you have a moment of not thinking about it is to have to go through everything with someone.
  • Leilani
    Options