Three and a half years out and exhausted!!

Michele B
Michele B Member Posts: 136
edited May 2018 in Health and wellbeing
Hi there,
Do others who are this far out from surgery and radiation (still taking Tamoxifen) suffer from a whole body and mind exhaustion? 
I work as an Early Childhood teacher and have returned to work full time this year, after working four last year.
I don't know if it's the Tamoxifen, my age (57) or the job..or all of the above!! Hard for anyone else to understand just how exhausted I feel?
Cheers!

Comments

• SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
    @primek
    thought you might be able to help you work full time 
  • primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392
    Oh I totally get it. I too was exhausted returning to full time work and needed a nanna nap most dsys. I was so tired I had very poor meal prep for lunches etc and so lived on coffee, cakes and prepared food from our local kiosk. 
    I focussed initially on my nutrition. Making a really good effort of eating and prepping nutritious food really helped. I stopped feeling as tired and stopped craving sugary carb foods. I also focussed on getting better sleep. This has been huge. No coffee after 12. No more than 1 quality cup etc etc. Avoid coke. ..even diet if possible as more caffeine.
    I had been exercising until back at full time. But after none for a month I wasn't any less  tired. I saw an exercise physiologist and discussed that I feel fine when exercising and go for a few weeks then crash and get so tired can barely stay awake. He suggested I work with less intensity. So now I  push 5-6/10 not 8-9/10. This means I can do it more often and not crash. I focussed initially on weekends and once during the week.  I'm slowly adding in more weight work /less cardio....and as Ive gained muscle mass I feel better. I still do cardio just not only cardio. 
    So there was my solution...