first time user

Options
karinkragh
karinkragh Member Posts: 4
edited September 2011 in General discussion

Hi

I am in my 2nd year after being diagnosed. I have managed very well by working and talking to a network of family and friends.  But this year at 18 mths I am finding that I have days where I am feeling scared and feel that I cannot cope as well.  The Family and friends are lost when I try to talk to them and just tell me to get over it and be happy that I am so well. I am confused and was wondering if there is anyone out there that fell this way as well after going thru a very difficult 12 mths??

Comments

• Chris
    Chris Member Posts: 813
    edited March 2015
    Options
    Hi Karinkragh,
    I'm not as far through the journey as you are, but I can understand about how you feel. I'm 9 months since diagnosis, and I have had a mastectomy and chemo. I was always very positive and optimistic about evrything, and survived my chemo well, and didn't have any major break downs or depressive thoughts. However, now that it is all behind me, and I only have 5 plus years of Femara ahead of me, I should be happy to be where I am, but I'm finding that I'm starting to have low days now, and it is hard to explain it to those that have seen me go through everything bravely. I feel selfish now with these thoughts, and don't think I can mention them to anyone. My family and friends love to see me looking well and being happy, as it makes them feel that all the
    bad times are behind them. Like you, no one wants to
    think that we aren't happy now that the treatment is
    behind us. Thank goodness for our BCNA sisters, at
    least they understand. I did have a nasty cancer scare
    3 weeks ago, and that seems to have triggered these
    negative thoughts, even though the lump was benign.
    The waiting for the core biopsy results was the pits. I'm
    sure I will feel better once I have had my prophylactic
    mastectomy in 2.5 weeks and begun my reconstruction.