I'm brand new at BCNA!

Options
Thea
Thea Member Posts: 54
edited May 2011 in Community news and events

Hi All,

Just wanted to saying 'Hi!' to everyone out there and to introduce myself as a newbie.

I joined the BCNA team a few weeks ago as a Media Officer, and will be helping the lovely Julie Reilly to get BCNA out and about in the media space.

I have just spent a little while reading some posts on the network and am already overwhelmed at the obvious friendships and comfort that is found by so many women on BCNA's online network.What an amazing opportunity to connect, especially for those hailing from the country - like myself.

Feel free to give me a holler if anyone has any questions about BCNA's media activities, or if you have a great story that would be great to get out there, or just to have a chat.

Cheers, Thea xx

Comments

• ShirlO
    ShirlO Member Posts: 350
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi there Thea, so pleased you decided to join us, I'm sure you will find your time here rewarding and enjoyable.  One way or another you will meet many of us and wonder how you ever managed without us in your life LoL !!!

This is a great network for support for  those diagnosed as well as their "nearest & dearest" and many long-lasting friendships are formed without even connecting face to face.

I guess, being in a small country area (Wentworth on the junction of the Darling and Murray rivers) I probably have easier access to local media (having my own reporter in my pocket so to speak) but there are times I would like to have my stories go further afield..... just National TV and magazine coverage - my needs are small !!

To my way of thinking the more "novelty" stories like the Tractor rally, Shane's run - not that that was a novelty event, but it started with a statement and grabbed the public's attention to the extent that they all want to be supportive and be involved.