Just getting started

Options
JessicaV
JessicaV Member Posts: 297
edited January 2014 in General discussion

Just wanted to say "Hi!"

I am a newbie,61yrs old, just had a lump ultrasounded and xrayed on Tuesday and the radiologist told me to get to my GP asap, and rang my GP herself. I have an IDC with associated DCIS, which looks like a fluffy lollypop.This was totally out of the blue.

I am booked to see Peter Willsher tomorrow and understand I will have surgery in the next ten days.. My GP said she is fairly sure they will want to do a mastectomy because of the length of the tumor, which is fine by me: I am ok about losing a breast if it gives me back my life and leaves me free from cancer.

For me at the moment, the hardest time is the afternoon, when the earth falls away under my feet and the terror of where I am fills me. I am building  skills for managing this and for diminishing its hold on me. I am also frantically trying to get all the info I can on what to expect so I can plan how to manage my work commitment. I need to know when I will be well enough to work, so that I do not let people down or mess them around. Hard to plan until I have seen Peter, maybe till I have had my surgery and path results.

It is so difficult knowing as much as I do but not enough to know where I stand or what my treatment will be.

Comments

• Deanne
    Deanne Member Posts: 2,163
    edited March 2015
    Options
    I'm so sorry you are facing all this, none of us ever wanted or expected to find ourselves in this position. You are right in thinking that it is difficult to plan anything too far ahead until you know what your path results are and therefore what treatment you will need.