Public vs private cost info

Options
mellymell
mellymell Member Posts: 4
Hi everyone :) I was diagnosed with breast cancer on Dec 7 and had a lumpectomy through a private hospital on the 15th. It all happened very fast and I am new to Australia so was trying to get my head around the system, Medicare etc. I do have health insurance but I've been a bit surprised at the amount of out of pocket costs so far. I am now looking at next steps with oncologist which could be radiotherapy, chemo and possibly double mastectomy and the thought of future mounting out of pocket costs is giving me anxiety. Is anyone able to comment on their experience with these? I've got no idea what other possible costs might come up apart from pathology, scans, consultations etc. Also any comments on moving from private to public and any feedback on that would be great  I'm in Melbourne. Thanks!  
Tagged:

Comments

• lrb_03
    lrb_03 Member Posts: 1,267
    Options
    Welcome @mellymell. These can be hard choices. You say you have health insurance and that you're new to Australia. Does your country of origin have reciprocal arrangements so that you can access our public system? If not, you may still face put of pocket costs even if going to a public hospital. Most large public hospitals will have someone you could talk to about these questions

I did a mix of public and private, having chemo in the public system, followed by surgery in the private system, then radiotherapy as a public patient. I can't  speak for Melbourne, but where I am, the private hospitals don't have the support services that the public hospitals do. However, the private hospital i Sydney where I had my surgery has amazing supports for inpatient care, and wonderful breast care nurses.