Lumps

Options
Afraser
Afraser Member Posts: 4,371
edited June 2019 in Day to day
Ah, the joy of little lumps! The one removed last week turns out be a seborrheic keratosis. Important words are benign and harmless. I am getting a collection, two neurofibromas (one removed along with my breast just in case it was a skin cancer) and a schwannoma, still in situ as it’s as harmless as the rest but no-one really wants to dig in the nerves of my other armpit! Daughter still leading this little competition with a dermoid cyst - complete with blonde hair and teeth bits! Any more tales of the benign but odd? 
Tagged:

Comments

• lrb_03
    lrb_03 Member Posts: 1,267
    Options
    No, but as a nurse I've definitely heard of dermoid cysts like your daughter had
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,371
    Options
    Seriously strange. Her doctor commented on the blonde hair as my daughter is a brunette, but she was blonde as a baby! Odd little parcel of leftovers in the body, a bit like owl droppings!! 
  • lrb_03
    lrb_03 Member Posts: 1,267
    Options
    Very strange, but that's exactly what they are.... parcels of leftovers that somehow remain in the body, contained in one spot
  • Patti J
    Patti J Member, Dragonfly Posts: 589
    Options
    I saw a couple of very large dermoid cysts when I  worked in Histology. I used to enjoy going into the laboratory to see all of the bits and pieces from operation.
  • kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Options
    Fascinating! Nothing out of the ordinary here, just the odd wart and skin tag. A starter melanoma once. Ooh no, I've just remembered, I had a mucinous cyst removed from my vag after my son was born. The surgeon said it was quite unusual!
  • youngdogmum
    youngdogmum Member Posts: 250
    Options
    I had a sebhorreic keratosis off my back about 5 years ago. Reminds me I really need to get a skin check whilst I'm so hairless 😂😂
  • kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Options