Half a boob, half a brain!!!

Options
Michele B
Michele B Member Posts: 136
Well, after having an MRI to explore why I am having frequent headaches, GP told me yesterday that I have several ischemic lesions (non cancerous, for which i am grateful) in white matter of brain! He said please dont panic,it can be an ageing thing (I'm 58) and may mean nothing but does put me at increased risk of stroke and dementia!!! Farout, that is something else to look forward to!!

Over the past four years of taking Tamoxifen, just switched to arimidex,  Ive had issues with losing words, forgetting what i was in the middle of saying etc...and put it down  to tamoxifen...not ideal when I work full time as a primary school teacher!!!
Feeling a bit stressed at the moment...I have read where otners have memory problems, but often after chemo which I escaped. Thanks for your thoughts!!
Tagged:

Comments

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Options
    Hi Michele. Cancer Related Cognitive Impairment (CRCI) is a real thing. In fact they are beginning to think that cognitive function can be impaired by the cancer itself, before treatment even starts.

We all mix up wirds, forget them and why we walk into rooms sometimes, but for me it's definitely got worse since BC. To start with your diagnosis tends to put everything else out of your mind! The stress, the worry, the uncertainty, and then the treatment. And then the pills... For many of us, myself included, BC induced menopause. How much CRCI would I be experiencing if I had already gone through 'the change'?

Tamoxifen blocks the uptake of estrogen in any tumour that is trying to grow, but your body still makes it. Aromatase Inhibitors prevent the production of estrogen. Estrogen is used pretty much everywhere in your body, including your brain.

Google estrogen in the brain and you'll find multiple articles and studies that will be of interest. Eg: