New here - need advice??

Options
BC101
BC101 Member Posts: 11
edited October 2011 in General discussion

Hi Girls,

I am new to the network. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in September 2010 at the age of 33 when my son was just 14 months old . I  had a lumpectomy one year ago today followed by six rounds of (TCH) chemo then a bi-lateral mastectomy and full implant reconstruction. I am receiving Hercepton (just a few to go) and have been taking tamoxifen for the past few months.

I am desparate to connect with other young women with similar experiences - sometimes I feel very alone in my BC journey.  Friends and family have been very supportive but I now feel broken inside and a far cry from the carefree happy person I was before. It's difficult to know where I fit in after fading from the scene for a year and part of me just wants to live in my little family bubble with my husband and my son because I feel like I have missed out on so much of my sons short life.

I'm teary all the time and highly sensitive to everyones comments I feel unattractive and angry at the world. My husband is extremely supportive and strong despite the fact I am so highly charged and snappy at him all the time.

I have been on tamoxifen for a few months and my moods are out of control, my estrogen is still too high (still getting my period) and so I am going to be put back on zoladex which I found terrible through chemo and know certainly this could intensify my side effects even more.

I have long considered going on anti-depressants to help with the hot flushes and in the hope it will take the edge off with regard to my emotions.  I would be interested to find out who has found some inner peace by going down this path?

Comments

• BC101
    edited March 2015
    Options