Making The Breast Of It

RobinStorey
RobinStorey Member Posts: 8
edited November 2016 in Community news and events

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in May 2015, three months before my 60th birthday. I consider myself very lucky that it was caught early, through a routine mammogram. I have had a lumpectomy and one lymph node removed (which was clear) and am shortly to start 4 weeks radiation. Every morning I wake up grateful for my early diagnosis.

I am also an author of comedy fiction, and looking at the books published on breast cancer (both in bookstores and on Amazon) I noticed a marked absence of books on the lighthearted and humorous aspects of having breast cancer. So I have decided to fill that gap and write one, which I am doing at present. This is not to make light of the difficulties and emotional trauma  that many people go through, but I also think we need to be able to laugh as well. It's essential for our physical and mental well-being. 

My book is called 'Making the Breast of It - breast cancer stories of humour and joy.'  It will be a combination of my own experiences and those of as many ladies I can find who are willing to share their experiences with me from a light-hearted, positive point of view. So I am putting the call out here and if you would like your story to be included, please message me on this site or email me at robin@altosoft.com.au. We can talk by phone, Skype or email - whichever is better for you. (I live in Queensland).

I will only use your first name and age in the book, but if you would like a pseudonym that's fine as well. My book will be published on Amazon as an e-book and also in print, and you'll get a free copy of the e-book. 

If you want to check me out, here's my website. http://www.storey-lines.com/

I look forward to chatting with you and have a great day - it's a beautiful spring day here on the Sunshine Coast. 

Comments

• Gillian2069
    Gillian2069 Member Posts: 46
    edited September 2015