Willow21
Willow21 Member Posts: 25
edited October 2016 in Newly diagnosed
Hi everyone,

Thanks for having me in your group. This is my story. I was diagnosed in the 8th Feb 2013 at the age of 38. I have a husband and two children aged 15 and 12. I'm a nursing student and currently living north of Brisbane. I felt a lump and went to the GP for advice, that's when the roller coaster started. The mammogram, ultrasound and breast MRI showed a IDC 17mm grade 3 ER+ & PR+ HER2-. So off to surgery I went for a lumpectomy and SNB. While the surgeon was removing the IDC she found another tumor which NONE of the other scanning tools picked up! It was a 20mm grade 3 poorly differentiated neuroendrine breast primary cancer (rare) ER+ PR + HER2- thank goodness my breast surgeon had a feel around. To top it off one of my lymph nodes had micro mets. Back to surgery for a mastectomy and full axilla clearance (plenty of tears). Next stop on the roller coaster ride was chemo, the fun never ends. 4 cycles of FEC followed by 12 cycles of paclitaxol. Due to the mastectomy I thankfully didn't need radiation but started on tamoxifen. Next stop was genetic testing. I didn't realize the full extent of my family BC history until my diagnosis. I knew my maternal grandmother was diagnosed with breast cancer in her early 30s and again in early 60s and her sister was diagnosed in her mid 70s but that was it. Well no, there was 6 of us over 4 generations. My genetic results show I'm negative to BRCA 1 & 2 but still classified as high risk. I'm booked in for a prophylactic mastectomy and bilateral tissue expanders on the 3rd Feb at the Wesley. Sorry it's long but that's my story in a nut shell. Thanks for having me in your group.
Thanks
Alison x

Comments

• Willow21
    edited March 2015
    Hi Paula,

I can't remember if I posted a blog in recon site although I have asked several questions to the lovely ladies about my upcoming surgery.